Home » Uncategorized

Two SFSC Employees Honored with NISOD Awards

Submitted by on March 11, 2014 – 10:33 amNo Comment
Dr. Kimberly Batty-Herbert

Dr. Kimberly Batty-Herbert

Lori Shumard

Lori Shumard

Dr. Kimberly Batty-Herbert and Lori Shumard are South Florida State College’s recipients of the 2013 National Institute for State and Organizational Development (NISOD) Excellence in Teaching Awards.

Each year, NISOD’s Excellence Awards recognize community and technical college educators who have demonstrated an outstanding commitment and contribution to their students and colleagues. Dr. Batty-Herbert is the dean of arts and sciences and Shumard is a mathematics professor at the Hardee and DeSoto campuses. SFSC’s NISOD award recipients are typically those who received the faculty President’s Award the previous year, as Dr. Batty-Herbert and Shumard did in December 2013.

“The NISOD Excellence in Teaching Awards recognize faculty who are our best and brightest, and provide excellent teaching in the classroom,” said Dr. Leana Revell, vice president, educational and student services. “NISOD provides us with an opportunity to recognize the excellence that is abundant in our college faculty. We are pleased to be able to nominate these superb faculty members to represent SFSC at the NISOD awards.”

“Recognizing those individuals who have contributed to student success and their colleges’ mission is something we look forward to doing each year,” said Dr. Edward J. Leach, NISOD’s director. “The extraordinary work of these men and women includes not only what they do for their students and colleagues, but what they do for the communities in which they live and work. We’re honored to be able to play a part in celebrating their achievements.”

Formed in 1978, NISOD is dedicated to the professional development of faculty, administrators, and staff and to the continued improvement of teaching and learning. It has presented its Teaching in Excellence Awards each year since 1984.

Leave a comment!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.