Home » AFC

SFSC Shines at AFC Convention

Submitted by on November 19, 2013 – 12:12 pmNo Comment

South Florida State College (SFSC) garnered an array of awards and recognition for its commitment to furthering the college system and its students during the 64th Annual Association of Florida Colleges (AFC) Convention in Orlando, Nov. 12-15.

For the first time ever at the AFC convention, two candidates tied for vice president-elect for commissions. The candidates were Dr. Robert Flores, SFSC, and Dr. Robert Van Der Velde, Palm Beach State College. To determine the winner, delegates to the convention will be asked to re-cast their votes during the first week of December.

SFSC received two Communications and Marketing Commission Awards of Excellence for informational and promotional material. Summer Miller, public relations coordinator, received first place for an article/story pitch resulting in publication for her story “Disability Does Not Mean Inability for SFSC Student.” Mollie Doctrow, MOFAC curator, received third place in Best Direct Mail Piece/Campaign for the Journey Stories Exhibition postcard.

SFSC’s AFC chapter received a membership award for having 50 percent or more of employees as members and was designated a Platinum Chapter at the state level based on points it earned for such factors as membership, participation in state and regional commissions, education and social activities, and fundraising.

Several SFSC employees were recognized for their outstanding service to the AFC. Lena Phelps was inducted into the Florida College System Activities Association (FCSAA) Hall of Fame. Melanie Jackson won the Presidential Leadership Award from the AFC Executive Board. Eddie Cuencas received an Excellence in Leadership award for Region IV. June Weyrauch received a Region IV Unsung Hero Award for her strong commitment and tireless, behind-the-scenes efforts for SFSC’s AFC chapter. Govindah “Go” Ramnarain presented “Collaborative Recycling” at the Facilities Commission’s business meeting and received the 2013 Best Practices Award of Honor.

SFSC employees were elected to new positions and others will continue their terms serving on commission boards. Cheryl Arpasi remains treasurer of the Facilities Commission. SFSC District Board of Trustees member Tami Cullens is now the chair of the AFC Trustees Commission. Susan Cartwright continues as secretary of the Occupational Workforce Commission. Lena Phelps serves as secretary/treasurer of the Learning Resources Commission and as webmaster of the Technology Commission.

SFSC’s attendees proved once again to be a lucky group as many walked away with an assortment of door prizes and silent auction items. Susan Cartwright won a frozen beverage machine from a raffle contest. Melanie Jackson won her bid on a tablet, and Lena Phelps won her bid for a Tampa Bay Lighting signed jersey from the silent auction. The biggest door prize went to Keith Loweke, who won a two-night stay at the Orlando Hyatt. Summer Miller, Melanie Jackson, Debbie Gutierrez, Susan Cartwright, and Keith Loweke also won a variety of small door prizes.

SFSC’s delegates to the convention were Cheryl Arpasi, Susan Cartwright, Dr. Robert Flores, Deb Gutierrez, Summer Miller, Loretta Jackson, Erik Christensen, Eddie Cuencas, Melanie Jackson, Deborah Latter, Keith Loweke, Lena Phelps, Go Ramnarain, and Sandi Urmann. Also attending were Dr. Thomas Leitzel, SFSC president; and Tami Cullens, SFSC trustee.

Group Picture Wed.

Loretta Jackson, Go Ramnarain, Erik Christensen, Dr. Thomas Leitzel, Susan Cartwright, Dr. Robert Flores, Lena Phelps, Summer Miller, Keith Loweke, Melanie Jackson, Eddie Cuencas, Sandi Urmann, Debbie Gutierrez, and Cheryl Arpasi arrive for the Region IV Meeting.

Group Dancing 300px

On the second night of the convention, SFSC wore their finest to the Presidential Gala and danced the night away.

Eddie Cuencas - SFSC AFC Award 300px

Eddie Cuencas, SFSC AFC President, accepts the Region IV Platinum Chapter award from AFC President Byron Todd (left).

Melanie Jackson - Presidential Leadership Award at Gale Thurs

Melanie Jackson won the Presidential Leadership Award from the AFC Executive Board.

Group Picture (Panthers) Fri 300px

Go Panthers!

Sandi, Eddie, and Deb at Gala 300px

Sandi Urmann (left), Eddie Cuencas, and Debbie Gutierrez have fun at the silent auction and president’s gala.

Melanie, Susan, and Deb with Door Prizes 300px

Melanie Jackson, Susan Cartwright, and Debbie Gutierrez show off their door prizes.

Group Photo Laughing at Each Other 300px

Eddie Cuencas, Debbie Gutierrez, Summer Miller, and Susan Cartwright enjoy each other’s company at the AFC After Party.

Lena Phelps - Hall of Fame Award Presentation Fri

Lena Phelps was inducted into the Florida College System Activities Association (FCSAA) Hall of Fame.

Group Photo Brunch Fri 300px

The SFSC AFC chapter enjoys the Closing Awards Brunch on the last day of the convention.

Govindah Ramnarain Award 300px

Govindah “Go” Ramnarain received the 2013 Best Practices Award of Honor from the Facilities Commission.

Leave a comment!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.