Home » Events, Headline

SFSC Begins New Academic Year with New Name and Other Changes

Submitted by on August 21, 2012 – 3:36 pmNo Comment


Lynn MacNeill receives a certificate from Dr. Norm Stephens for 40 years of service to SFSC.

“New” was the buzzword at South Florida State College’s annual Welcome Back celebration for employees Monday morning.

Fall 2012 is the first academic term in which the college’s new name, new logo, and new college seal go fully into use, Dr. Norm Stephens pointed out in his annual state-of-the-college address. As classes begin over the next week, new students and many returning ones will see the full impact of the college’s name change in the new signage that is now in place at the SFSC campuses and center.

Several new changes are on the horizon – and even more are expected in the not-so-distant future.  With the start of the fall term, the college’s mission will expand, as classes begin for its first baccalaureate program – the Bachelor of Applied Science Degree in Supervision and Management (BAS-SM).  The college is now crafting proposals for adding two more bachelor’s degree programs – nursing and elementary education – in approximately two years.

In mid-August, the National Science Foundation approved giving SFSC a $900,000 grant to begin occupational certificate and associate degree programs in the emerging biofuels industry. One program will focus on the agricultural production of biomass; the other on refining biomass for use as biofuel. These will be up and running in about a year through the Division of Applied Sciences and Technologies. “It’s hard to get a National Science Foundation grant for any institution,” Dr. Stephens remarked. “It’s particularly difficult for state colleges or community or state colleges. They’re very rare. Most of the grants are research oriented and go to colleges and universities with graduate programs. We’re in unique company.”

The Information Technology (IT) and Institutional Effectiveness (IE) departments have been combined under the direction of Dr. Christopher van der Kaay, the college’s new chief information officer (CIO). A new department, Academic Foundations, was recently created with Beth Andrews as its chair. As part of its responsibilities, it will oversee the delivery of the college’s first-year experience program, Guide to Personal Success (GPS). Stacy Sharp is the new chair of the English Department, and Dr. Deborah Milliken is the new chair of the Dental Education Department.

Planning is under way for SFSC’s fire science program. The immediate focus is on renovating Building P, where the program will be housed, and locating specialized equipment.

The Dental Hygiene Program achieved a worthy milestone over the summer, when it was reaccredited by the American Dental Association Council on Dental Accreditation (ADA CODA) without recommendations.

Over the summer, SFSC maintenance staff completed remodeling work in Building N, home to the electronics lab and the heating, air conditioning, and refrigeration lab. A multi-use path, being installed by the county along College Drive, is nearly complete.

For the second year in a row, SFSC is eligible for the prestigious Aspen Prize. “We’re very proud of that. It means that, based on data, we’re considered among the top 10 percent of community colleges in the United States,” Dr. Stephens said.

Dr. Stephens recognized several faculty members for accomplishments during the year. Dr. Peter Hamlet and Stacy Sharp were acknowledged for receiving the National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD) awards in May 2012. James McBride received a five-year service award for being the advisor to SFSC’s Tau Epsilon chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK).  Dr. Michele Heston and Kathleen Cappo became Certified Nursing Educators through the National League for Nursing.

Employees who received pins for years of service were: 

Five Years
Dr. Kimberly Batty-Herbert
Kathleen Benn
Randy Chancey
Dr. Brian Deery
Elmer Espiritu
Nelly Ford
Joshua Glaser
Junior Gray
Dr. Peter Hamlet
Devra Harris
Joseph Hedgwood
Fernando Islas
Timothy Johnson
L.C. Lane
Keith Loweke
Tanna Markel
Richard Merritt
Maria Mitil
Melanie Moody
Ricardo Pantoja
Richard Peavy
Kris Schmidt
Lori Schumard
Peggy Sueppel
Laura Wilder

10 Years
Teresa Crawford
Herbert Donglasan
Susie Johnson
Gary Mullins
Angie Noonon
Dr. Charlotte Pressler
Winnie Salmon
Sharon Schuler
Karla Wyatt 

15 Years
Dr. Annie Alexander-Harvey
Felecia Dozier
Greg Edwards
Dr. Deborah Fuschetti
Cliff Hangley
John Snow
Sandy Turke 

20 Years
Pam Vestal

 25 Years
Norman Church
Dr. William Gregory
Linda Taggeson 

30 Years
Doug Andrews 

40 Years
Lynn MacNeill

Lauren Redick and Kris Schmidt






Dr. Randy Payne (left), Enrique Ramos, and Norman Church

Maria Mitel (left), Irene Castanon, and Elisavet Rios

Dr. Norm Stephens carries the torch for the AFC Olympics to mark the start of its annual membership drive.


SFSC’s AFC chapter staged a tribute to the Olympics by performing a mock synchronized swimming routine to the music, “Time to Say Goodbye.” Representing AFC were Eddie Cuencas, Kevin Brown, Keith Loweke, Dr. Mike McLeod, Dick Peavy, and Go Ramnarain.

Leave a comment!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.