Home » AFC

SFCC Shines at AFC Convention

Submitted by on November 4, 2011 – 1:26 pmNo Comment
South Florida Community College garnered an array of awards and recognition for their commitment to furthering the community college system and its students during the 62nd Annual Association of Florida Colleges (AFC) Convention in Naples, Oct. 26-29.

SFCC’s AFC chapter received a membership award for having 50 percent or more of employees as members and was designated a Region IV Gold Chapter based on points it earned for such factors as membership, participation in state and regional commissions, education and social activities, and fundraising. Lena Phelps received a Region IV Unsung Hero Award for her knowledge of the SFCC’s AFC chapter history and for volunteering her time to AFC.

SFCC also received four Communications and Marketing Commission Awards of Excellence for informational and promotional material. Callie Maddox, Community Relations assistant, received second place for Best Photography in a Published Piece and the Students Choice Award for Best Photography in a Published Piece for her picture of a student participating in Community College Week. The SFCC Museum of Florida Art and Culture (MOFAC) website received first place for Best Website, and the SFCC Cultural Programs Department received second place in Best Direct Mail for its 2010-11 Cultural Series brochure, both produced by the design company Clark/Nikdel/Powell.

SFCC employees were elected to new positions and others will continue their terms serving on commission boards. Dr. Robert Flores remains chair of the Facilities Commission, while Cheryl Arpasi remains secretary/treasurer of that commission. SFCC District Board of Trustees member Tami Cullens was elected chair-elect of the Trustees Commission. Courtney Green continues as treasurer and Susan Cartwright continues as secretary of the Occupational Workforce Commission. Dr. Kimberly Batty-Herbert will serve as the treasurer of the Administration Commission.  Lena Phelps serves as treasurer of the Learning Resources Commission, and Jennifer Young continues as secretary/treasurer of the Communications and Marketing Commission.

SFCC’s attendees proved once again to be a lucky group as many walked away with an assortment of door prizes and silent auction items. Dr. Batty-Herbert won two gift baskets, and Phelps won a book gift basket and an art print from the silent auction. The biggest door prizes went to Martin, who won a one-night stay at the Marriot Deerfield Beach, and Green, who won a one-night stay in Vero Beach.

SFCC’s delegates to the convention were Arpasi, Cartwright, Dr. Flores, Green, Joann Kramer, Jackson, Maddox, Martin, Keith Loweke, Phelps, Go Ramnarain, and Young. Also attending were Dr. Batty-Herbert, Dr. Norm Stephens, SFCC president, and Cullens.

Cheryl Arpasi, Adam Martin, Kimberly Batty-Herbert, Jennifer Young, Callie Maddox, Courtney Green, Dr. Robert Flores, Go Ramnarain, Lena Phelps, Keith Loweke, Joann Kramer, and Susan Cartwright arrive for the Region IV Meeting.

Keith Loweke presents Lena Phelps with the 2011 “Unsung Hero” award at the AFC Convention for her dedication and hard work with SFCC’s AFC Chapter.


Keith Loweke, Dr. Norm Stephens, and Kimberly Batty-Herbert wait for the Opening General Session to start.


Go Ramnarain and Keith Loweke have fun at the Luau Welcome Party.


Callie Maddox and Jennifer Young accept awards from the Communication and Marketing Commission.


Melanie Jackson, Joann Kramer, and Go Ramnarain enjoy each other’s company at the Club AFC Party.


Kimberly Batty- Herbert and Courtney Green dance the night away at the Club AFC Party.


Keith Loweke accepts SFCC’s Membership Award for having 50 percent or more of employees as members.

Keith Loweke accepts the AFC Gold Chapter award for SFCC.


Leave a comment!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.